[rough draft - NOT ready for review]
The Documents


Techniques are examples of how to implement accessibility and contain things like example code, resources and test procedures.

Sufficient Techniques

Sufficient Techniques are examples of ways to meet a WCAG Success Criterion.

If you follow a Sufficient Technique for a given WCAG Success Criterion, you will meet that criterion. Note, in some cases, this is only the case if you follow a combination of techniques. When this is the case, the Technique page says it is “sufficient, if combined”.

Advisory Techniques

Advisory Techniques are ways to improve the accessibility experience for your users. They do not guarantee you meet a Success Criterion, but will likely benefit your users.

Failure Techniques

Failure Techniques document known ways of not meeting a WCAG Success Criterion.

Understanding Documents

Understanding Documents explain WCAG Success Criteria and key WCAG concepts. They include things like intent, benefits for end users and related resources.

COGA Design Patterns

COGA (Cognitive Accessibility) Design Patterns are ways to improve the accessibility experience for people with cognitive disabilities.

ACT Rules

@@ clarify old Tests in Techniques and these new Test Rules

Accessibility Conformance Testing Rules are WCAG Success Criteria interpreted as test rules. They document failures programmatically, so that they can be used in automated tools as well as manual testing

Additional Resources

There is additional educational material related to WCAG 2, including:

We encourage you to look around the W3C WAI website to find other information that you might be interested in reading or sharing with others.

Back to Top